

## The All India Glass Manufacturers Federation <u>PRESS RELEASE</u>

## Indian Glass Body Meets over AGM and 1<sup>st</sup> Glass Awards with its new President as Raj Kumar Mittal from Firozabad

**DELHI, August 17, 2018:** The Executive Committee of The All India Glass Manufacturers' Federation (AIGMF) met on Aug 17 at Hotel Pride Plaza, Aerocity, Delhi.

On the same day Annual General Meeting was held wherein new Office Bearers were elected: Mr. Raj Kumar Mittal of Mittal Ceramics, Firozabad as President; Mr. Bharat Somany of HNG & Inds. Ltd., Bahadurgarh as Sr. Vice President; Mr. Sanjay Agarwal of General Traders, Firozabad as Vice President; Mr. K C Jain of HNG Float Glass Ltd., Mumbai as Hon. General Secretary and Mr. Hargun Bhambhani of Sunrise Glass Inds. Ltd., Gujarat as Hon. Treasurer.

Parallel to AIGMF meetings, an Interactive Session on Industry-related Risk and Opportunities was organised. The session covered presentations on Competition Law by Mr. Manas Kr. Chaudhuri, Partner, Khaitan & Co., and Anti-Dumping/Indirect Tax by Mr. Kabir Bogra, Partner (Indirect Tax) Khaitan & Co.

Highlight of the day was 1<sup>st</sup> AIGMF Glass Awards namely C K Somany Award for Innovation and Technology; and Balkrishna Gupta Award for Exports.

Supported by *Glass Worldwide*, the C K Somany Glass Award was conceived to recognise the exceptional contribution to the Indian glass industry made over many decades by Mr. Somany of HNG, who passed away in May 2017 having headed India's principal glass manufacturing group for more than 60 years.

Acknowledging his valuable contribution in the fields of technology, manufacturing, innovation, services and education, an appointed panel of jury members unanimously opined in favour of Mr. Sushil Jhunjhunwala, Vice Chairman of La Opala RG Ltd., as the first winner of the C K Somany Glass Award. Members of the Jhunjhunwala family have been actively involved in the Indian glass industry for more than eight decades, with Mr. Sushil Jhunjhunwala having personally served the industry for 50 years. In addition to being a key personality at La Opala, a specialist Indian producer of opal and lead crystal tableware, Mr. Jhunjhunwala served with distinction as President of the AIGMF and the Eastern India Glass Manufacturers' Association (EIGMA).

"La Opala has always been very active in the field of innovation and every year the company is honoured to receive prestigious awards" commented Mr. Jhunjhunwala. "However, to personally be the first winner of the C K Somany Glass Award is extra special for me. Mr. Somany was like my guardian and was such a warm person. He was the Indian glass industry's figurehead and was always very open to offering technical assistance and advice. He is greatly missed".

The accompanying Balkrishna Gupta Award honours Mr. Gupta as founder of the Advance Group of Glass Industries in Firozabad. With more than 70 years of experience of running many glass manufacturing units in Firozabad, Mr. Gupta also served as President of the AIGMF and Uttar Pradesh Glass Manufacturers' Syndicate (UPGMS).



## The All India Glass Manufacturers Federation

Awarded the Balakrishna Gupta Award in recognition of a valuable contribution in glass exports, Piramal Glass Pvt. Ltd., is a global specialist in glass packaging solutions for the pharmaceutical, cosmetics, perfumery and specialty food and beverage sectors. With headquarters in Mumbai and manufacturing plants in Gujarat as well as Horana in Sri Lanka, Piramal Glass has proven particularly successful in the export market, supplying, for example, 50% of the world's nail varnish bottles.

Upon receiving the BalKrishna Gupta Award, Mr. Sanjay Jain of Piramal Glass commented, "On behalf of Piramal Glass Pvt. Ltd., we would like to thank the jury of AIGMF for selecting us for the Balkrishna Gupta Award of the year 2017-18. The Award is prestigious, and Piramal Glass appreciates AIGMF's acknowledgement of its performance".

While we maintain our leadership position in the Cosmetics and Perfumery (C&P) and Pharmaceuticals glass packaging in the Indian market, we continue to expand our foot print in our existing global markets of USA, Europe and South America as well as entering into business relations with new customers in Africa (South Africa) and South East Asia (Indonesia).

The jury, who convened at CSIR-CGCRI, Kolkata in July to determine the winners of both awards, was:

- Dr. Ranjan Sen, Chief Scientist & Head Glass Division, CSIR-Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute (CSIR-CGCRI), Kolkata
- Mr. Dave Fordham, Editor, Glass Worldwide, London (UK)
- Mr. Bharat Somany, Vice President AIGMF and Vice President HNG Inds. Ltd., Bahadurgarh (Haryana)
- Mr. M K Bansal, Executive Committee Member AIGMF and Partner, Shri Sitaram Glass Works, Firozabad (UP)
- Mr. Vinit Kapur, Secretary AIGMF, Delhi

Adding glory to the ceremony, C K Somany Award was presented by his sons, Mr. Sanjay and Mukul Somany (both Former Presidents of AIGMF) and BalKrishna Gupta Award by his son Mr. Pradeep Gupta who also happens to be Former President of AIGMF.

For further information, contact: Vinit Kapur, Secretary The All India Glass Manufacturers' Federation (AIGMF) New Delhi, India Tel: +91 11 23316507 E-mail: <u>info@aigmf.com</u> Web: <u>www.aigmf.com</u>